Welcome to Durham Northumberland Chapter
President - Beatriz Jackson beatrizjackson@rnao.ca Finance - Lorraine Carrington lcarrington@rnao.ca Membership - Regina Elliott relliott@rnao.ca Political Action - Angela Cooper Brathwaite acooperbraithwaite@rnao.ca Communications - Kim Brophy kbrophy@rnao.ca Workplace Liaisons - Helen Mathias hmathias@rnao.ca Information Management & Technology - Karen Hickman khickman@rnao.ca Student Liaison - Dana-Lee Sherlock dsherlock@rnao.ca Past President - Tessa Davy tdavy@rnao.ca Region 8 Board Representative: Jackie Graham jgraham@RNAO.ca
News

Queen's Park Day February 27th, 2014

 

The chapter members met with their MPPs over breakfast at the Legislative Building in Queen’s Park on February 27, 2014, speaking out on four issues: Signing of the Health Accord; Restructuring of the Local Health Integration Network to include public health units, home care and primary care; Increasing the Minimum Wage to $14.00/ hour; and Investment in Registered Nurses.

Annual Dinner and Chapter Meeting March 27, 2014

 

Great turn out at our Annual Dinner Chapter Meeting at Harpo’s in Oshawa.  Over 60 members signed up for this event.   Please see attachment for the ENO report and more pictures!  

Next event Mental Health "Walk for Wellness"  will take place on Saturday June 7th, 2014 at Heydenshore Park in Whitby.  This event is FREE and open to all members, families, friends and pets.  Please mark this on your calendar and come out for a little exercise as well as supporting a good cause.  

Annual General Dinner Meeting

The Annual General Dinner Meeting is taking place this Thursday March 27, 2014.  We have a large number of people attending this year!  Doors open at 6 o'clock and dinner will be served at 6:30.  Please ensure you arrive early as we have a full agenda.  I have attached minutes from January 16th and the agenda for this meeting.  Looking forward to seeing everyone on Thursday!

Annual Dinner and Chapter Meeting

Please try to attend our Annual Dinner and Chapter Meeting at Harpo's Restaurant in Oshawa on Thursday March 27th, 2014.  Please see attachments for complete details and directions.

Hope to see you there!

Quarter Century Pin Presentation

The chapter was pleased to honour 5 members emeritus (RNAO regular membership member for forty years) and 28 quarter century members (RNAO regular membership for 25 years).  Two recipients were in attendance at the January 16th chapter meeting.

Maureen Gmitrowicz, member emeritus and past president of the chapter, was presented with her pin and certificate.  Maureen commented that, "nursing has always been a major part of my life".

Volunteers Needed

The Durham Children's Aid Society is seeking volunteers for their Parent Mentor Program.  Please see attachment if interested.

Members' Voices: September 2013-January 2014

Submitted by: Beatriz Jackson, President Region 8 Durham Northumberland Chapter

A Message From Christine Elliott MPP Whitby-Oshawa

Thank you for taking the time to contact me regarding the need for more registered nurses in Ontario.

We know that nurses are the backbone of our healthcare system but have been the first to be let go by the Liberal government as they struggle to contain health care costs.

Chapter Meeting Thursday January 16th, 2014

Please join us for a "Our First 2014" Chapter Meeting  and "Celebrate our Quarter Century Membership Pin Presentation!"

Attachments include Agenda for January 16th meeting, members voice report, minutes from October Chapter meeting and from executive meeting on December 5th, 2013.

Looking forward to seeing everyone!

Season's Greetings from your Executive!

Please mark your calendar for next our Chapter Meeting on Thursday January 16th, 2014 (see attachment)